2014 Ballarat FNL Hall of Fame inductees - from left, Ian Pym, Bill Bruhn, David Jenkins, Sally McLean, Michael Hallahan and Michael Roche representing his late father Danny. PICTURE: Jeremy Bannister, The Courier


BFNL announce 2014 Hall of Fame Inductees

July 29, 2014, 08:42 AM AEST


Last night (Monday 28th July), the Red Onion Creative Ballarat Football Netball League inducted six new members into the Ballarat FNL Hall of Fame, with one existing Hall of Fame member elevated to the status of Legend.

In front of a crowd of over 150 people at the Ballarat Leagues Club, and with Australian Football Hall of Fame member and Essendon premiership captain Terry Daniher as the guest speaker, the following six people were inducted into the Ballarat FNL Hall of Fame.

Legend Elevation – GEORGE KING

King, one of the longest and most well-known administrators in the history of the Ballarat FNL, joined Bill Henderson, Jim Gull and John Northey as Legends of the Ballarat Football Netball League, elevated to Legend after his induction into the Ballarat FNL Hall of Fame in 2012.

George’s list of achievements are…

  • Ballarat FL Secretary from 1946 to 1968 (inc) – 23 years
  • Instrumental in re-commencing Ballarat FL after World War 2
  • Ballarat FNL Life Member
  • Ballarat FNL Reserves Best & Fairest Medal named in George’s honour
  • Printed “BFL Footy Record” at Kings the Printer from 1946 to 1978
  • Ballarat FL representative on VCFL Regional Board for over 20 years
  • Widely regarded as country football’s leading administrator during his period as Ballarat FL secretary

2014 Ballarat FNL Hall of Fame Inductees

Michael Hallahan – East Ballarat FC

  • 212 Senior & 5 Reserves games for East Ballarat FC
  • No premierships but 4 time Runner-Up – 1966, 1970, 1975, 1976
  • Ballarat FL Interleague Representative Player
  • Eddie King Memorial Trophy (East Ballarat FC Best & Fairest) – 1973 & 1975
  • Coached East Ballarat Reserves in 1986 & 1987
  • Coached Buninyong FC in 1977 & 1978
  • Selected on the wing in the East Ballarat FC Team of the Century
  • Inaugural Chairman of the East Point FNC in 2000
  • Played three VFL games with Fitzroy FC in 1967

Ian Pym – Redan FC

  • Redan FC Reserves coach 1981, 1982 & 1996.
  • Played 639 club games for the Redan FC retiring at age 49 (52 Senior games, 317 Reserves games, 270 Junior games).
  • Captained Reserves for nine years and won 3 premierships in that time.
  • Redan FC Assistant Secretary, Secretary and Treasurer.
  • Still involved as a long time servant, creating the club history book (ranging from 1871 – 2013)
  • Treasurer for Redan FC Past Players Association and Chairman of the Redan FC Hall of Fame Committee.
  • Coached five seasons of Ballarat Super Rules team.
  • Represented Victoria Country on six occasions at yearly Australian carnival.
  • Recognised by Victorian Country Football League for his services to football in Ballarat.

Bill Bruhn – Ballarat Football Umpires Association

  • Joined the BFUA in 1969 and umpired until 2005 (Total of 37 years, 650 matches and 20 Grand Finals)
  • Only individual to have held all executive positions in the 100 Year History of the BFUA.
  • Awarded the Australian Sports Medal by the Governor General and Prime Minister for his contribution to sport in 2000
  • Awarded a community service award for his valuable contribution to sport and the community in 2004
  • Awarded Life Membership of the BFUA in 1979
  • BFUA Assistant Secretary 1973
  • BFUA Secretary 1974-75 and 1998-2003
  • BFUA Central Umpire Advisor 1980-83
  • BFUA Director of Junior Development & Building 1984, 1994
  • BFUA Director of Umpiring 1985-87, 1992-93
  • BFUA Chairman 1989-91
  • AFL Goldfields Independent Tribunal Panel Member 2014 to Current

 Sally McLean – Lake Wendouree FNC

  • 2011 Coach of the best BFNL team of 20 years.
  • Coached Lake Wendouree U/18.5 Netball side to 2 consecutive premierships in 2004 & 2005
  • Coached Lake Wendouree A grade Netball Side to 5 premierships in 6 years from 2007-2010, 2012 (runner up in 2011)
  • Member of the Lake Wendouree FNC from 2006 – 2013.
  • BFNL A Grade Netball Coach of the Year 2007, 2009-12.
  • 2013 Lake Wendouree A Grade Netball Best & Fairest renamed the “Sally McLean Medal”.
  • 2010 Lake Wendouree netball won all four grades with Sally as Netball Coordinator.
  • In total 11 years with LWFNC - 10 grand final appearances, and 7 Premierships.
  • BFNL A Grade Netball League Best & Fairest Award named in Sally McLean’s honour in 2014 .

What is also remarkable about Sally McLean, is that in 2005, on the eve of her success, she was struck with illness.  Sally had over 11 operations during her reign as senior coach, missing only 3 games of netball.  She inspired not only her players, but supporters alike for her courage & determination not to let her illness rule her life.

 2013 – Sadly, Sally retired from coaching with the Lake Wendouree Football Netball Club and Ballarat Football Netball League to spend more time with her family while she tackles her off court battles.

David Jenkins – Sebastopol FC

  • Won 6 Sebastopol FC Junior Best & Fairest Awards from under 14’s to under 18’s.
  • Won Sebastopol FC Senior Best & Fairest at age 17
  • Won 1975 premiership with Sebastopol, claiming League and Club Best & Fairest Awards at age 19.
  • At 20 he moved to the BFL to play with Redan. Won the League Best and Fairest, Club Best and Fairest in BFL. 1976
  • Premiership player with the Redan FC in 1976 and 1977.
  • Nominated for Redan FC & Creswick FC Team of the Century
  • 1987 Creswick FC Premiership playing Coach, club Best & Fairest winner and CHFL League Best & Fairest winner
  • Named in Rokewood FC Team of the Century.
  • Represented Ballarat FL’s 3 victorious sides in Winfield Country Cup Games in 1981, 1982, 1983.
  • Runner Up in Henderson Medal in 1980,
  • Runner Up in Mildura FL (McLoed Medal) U/14 League Best & Fairest.
  • Won a total of 10 Club Best & Fairest Awards, 3 League Best & Fairest Awards, won 3 Senior Premierships 1 Senior Runners Up.
  • 8 Best & Fairest Awards, 1 League Best & Fairest Award and 1 Premiership in 1975 with the Sebastopol FC. 

Danny Roche – East Ballarat FC

  • 37 years’ service to the East Ballarat Football Club
  • Coached Junior Football Grades for 12 years after playing career ended at 37 years of age.
  • Regarded East Ballarat’s best ever player.
  • 1938 Eric Watson Medalist (U/16 League Best & Fairest)
  • Trained with the Essendon FC at 18 in the VFL however was cut short by WW2 outbreak.
  • Declined VFL contract with Melbourne FC preferring to play with East Ballarat.
  • Captained 1949 & 1950 EBFC premierships (runner up in 1951)
  • 4 time East Ballarat FC Best & Fairest
  • 3 time Courier Trophy Runner Up (Regarded as league medal in those days.)
  • Named best player in losing 1957 Grand Final for East Ballarat in his last game
  • Playing coach of Creswick FC for 3 years and won Clunes League Best & Fairest.
  • Named captain of East Ballarat FC “Team of the Century”
  • Represented the Ballarat FL at Interleague level.

The Red Onion Creative Ballarat Football Netball League is thrilled to have these six fantastic representatives of the league throughout the years as the newest Hall of Fame inductees, a fitting reward for their achievements throughout football, netball and umpiring.

Major Sponsors
Ballarat Leagues Club